0 votes

North Group WrapNottinghamshire Win Three In A Row
Durham vs Nottinghamshire

Nottinghamshire made easy work of a 124-run chase at the Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street as they cruised to a nine-wicket win over Durham on Tuesday (July 25). After opting to bat, early wickets pegged Durham on the back foot but opener Graham Clark's knock was the eventual saving grace for the side as he top-scored with 41 off 27. Clark shared a stand of 46 runs for the third wicket with Michael Richardson after Durham were 8 for 2, and did the bulk of scoring with the latter having only 9 against his name before the pair was dismissed within an over of each other, causing a flurry of wickets. Skipper Paul Coughlin's 20 and the final pair of Ryan Pringle (19) and Liam Trevaskis (13) resisted before Durham were bowled out for 123 in 18.1 overs.

After a couple of failures, Alex Hales's blistering knock at the top gave Nottinghamshire the perfect start as they had 64 on the board after the Powerplay. Hales departed in the seventh over for a 22-ball 44 - 40 of which came in boundaries, but with half the job done, it was an easy task for the rest to complete. Riki Wessels (49*) and Brendan Taylor (33*) remained unbeaten in a 60-run stand to take Nottinghamshire over the line, taking them to their third successive win in the NatWest t20 Blast, 2017, after kickstarting the tournament with two losses on the trot.

Brief scores: Durham 123 in 18.1 overs (Graham Clark 41; Samit Patel 3-26, Luke Wood 2-15) lost to Nottinghamshire 129/1 in 16 overs (Riki Wessels 49*, Alex Hales 44) by nine wickets.

Leicestershire vs Warwickshire

After a clinical outing by the batsmen, Boyd Rankin and Aaron Thomason's three-wicket hauls ensured Warwickshire overcame Leicestershire with relative ease as they picked up their fourth win of the tournament at Grace Road in Leicester, bagging a 30-run win.

After being asked to bat, a failure from the openers had Warwickshire in trouble at 13 for 2 in the third over. Sam Hain, en route a half-century, along with William Porterfield for company in a 63-stand helped the visitors recover. After Porterfield's departure in the ninth over for a 23-ball 35, Colin de Grandhomme and Grant Elliott added quick runs in respective stands with Hain before falling for a 35-ball 57 with 144 on the board. However, cameos from Keith Barker (23*) and Alex Mellor (18*) in an unbeaten 43-run stand took Warwickshire to 187 for 7.

Leicestershire never really got going from the onset. Opener Luke Ronchi blazed away at first, but wickets at the other end slowed him down until he eventually fell for just 27. The next innings of substance came from Tom Wells (29) and Mathew Pillans (34*) - who also picked up two wickets - who added 53 runs for the seventh wicket. But too much was left for the pair, and the rest, to do as they finished with 157 for 8.

Brief scores: Warwickshire 187/7 in 20 overs (Sam Hain 57, William Porterfield 35; Callum Parkinson 2-25, Mathew Pillans 2-41) beat Leicestershire 157/8 in 20 overs (Mathew Pillans 34; Boyd Rankin 3-26, Aaron Thomason 3-33) by 30 runs.

Derbyshire vs Lancashire

Luis Reece's unbeaten 97 ensured that Derbyshire had posted a total in excess of 200, which helped them bounce back from successive losses to return to winning ways with a comfortable 35-run win over Lancashire.

After his unbeaten 75 against Northamptonshire in the first game of the competition, Luis Reece had a fairly quiet tournament with no big scores after the promising start. Against Lancashire, however, he showed why it wasn't a one-off incident as he belted his way to a spectacular unbeaten 97 that came off just 55 balls at the County Ground in Derby. Wickets fell at the other end but that Reece stayed until the end ensured Derbyshire finished with a strong total, and wicketkeeper Daryn Smit's quickfire 20-ball 44 helped them finish even stronger setting Lancashire a target of 212.

Openers Karl Brown and Liam Livingstone gave the side a strong start racing away to over 50 within five overs. Livingstone took apart Derbyshire's attack as he belted five sixes and two fours in his knock of 44, which came off just 18 balls, before he fell in the sixth over, with Brown having only 11 in a 55-run stand. Arron Lilley (38 off 23) and Brown continued from where Livingstone left and added another 38 before the latter fell for 41 off 25. The chase fell apart thereafter with no batsman touching double digits, until Stephen Parry's 15 at No. 9 as Lancashire ended their 20 overs with the scorecard reading 176 for 9.

Brief scores: Derbyshire 211/5 in 20 overs (Luis Reece 97*, Daryn Smit 42*; Junaid Khan 2-53, Stephen Parry 2-27) beat Lancashire 176/9 in 20 overs (Karl Brown 41, Liam Livingstone 44; Matt Henry 3-37, Matthew Critchley 2-16) by 35 runs.

Source © Cricbuzz

123 views Jul 26, 2017

Your Comment

Anti-spam verification:

To avoid this verification in future, please log in or register.